Worst. Interview. Ever.

Since joining the ranks of the unemployed, I made a vow to go through whatever door might be presented to me. Yesterday, for example, I stood in the blazing sun for $8 an hour to show support for a political candidate who is also a friend of mine.

Then, yesterday afternoon, I drove 30 minutes for an interview at a home health agency. The opportunity was given to me by a dear friend of mine who was hoping to help me out. When I got to the interview, a woman ushered me in, asked me for my resume, and said, “Oh, development? What is that, marketing?”

After I explained that I was a fundraiser, but I had a lot of transferable skills, she hemmed and hawed and told me that the position was basically a secretarial job. How much money was I expecting to make?

Well, I told her. I was making about $18 dollars an hour at my previous job, but right now I was making Zero dollars an hour.

I don’t think they could have rushed me out of there any quicker.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a comment